Cambodia Travel Information
Home | Travel | Visa | Medical | To Avoid

General Information About Cambodia

Cambodia covers an area of 181,035 square kilometers, divided into 22 provinces. It borders in the North with Thailand and Laos, in the East and South with Vietnam, and in the South and Southwest with the Gulf of Thailand.

Cambodia's territory is predominantly flatland with vast land parts assigned to rice agriculture. Mountain ranges include the Dangrek, Cardomen and Elephant mountains.

There are some 13.6 million people living in Cambodia. The capital is Phnom Penh with 1 milion inhabitants.

Cambodia's official language is Khmer. However, French is still taught in schools and universities, even if English increasingly predominates.

The official religion is Theravada Buddhism, which is also practiced in neighboring Laos, Thailand, Burma and Sri Lanka.

The rainy season stretches from May to November, followed by the dry season from December till April. The local time is GMT + 7. The business hours are Monday-Friday 7.30 am to 5.00 pm, whereas the shops are open from 8.00 am to 9.00pm.

Internet-service and e-mail providers are currently operating in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap.