E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize, 2017: final call for nominations

(From Ian Pratt-Hartmann )

E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize, 2017: final call for nominations

Since 2002, FoLLI (the Association for Logic, Language, and Information, http://www.folli.info) has awarded the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language, and Information. We invite submissions for the best dissertation which resulted in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2016.

Who qualifies.

Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a Ph.D. degree in the areas of Logic, Language, or Information between January 1st, 2016 and December 31st, 2016. Theses must be written in English; however, the Committee accepts submissions of English translations of theses originally written in other languages, and for which a PhD was awarded in the preceding two years (i.e. between January 1st, 2014 and December 31st, 2015). There is no restriction on the nationality of the candidate or on the university where the Ph.D. was granted.


The prize consists of:
-a certificate
-a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation
-an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version of
it) to the FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and
Information (Springer).

How to submit

Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents are required:

   The thesis in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf not accepted).
   A ten-page abstract of the dissertation in pdf format.
   A letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor
     (see below).
   Two additional letters of support, including at least one
     from a referee not affiliated with the academic
     institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree.

Self-nominations are not admitted: each nomination must be sponsored by the thesis supervisor. The letter of nomination should concisely describe the scope and significance of the dissertation and state when the degree was officially awarded. Nominations should contain the email contact details of the nominator.

All documents must be submitted electronically (preferably as a zip file) to Ian Pratt-Hartmann (ipratt@cs.man.ac.uk). Hard copy submissions are not allowed. In case of any problems with the email submission or a lack of notification within three working days, nominators should write to Ian Pratt-Hartmann.

The prize will be awarded at the ESSLLI summer school in Toulouse. The current (tentative) date for the presentation ceremony is July 26th, 2017.

Queries: Ian Pratt-Hartmann (ipratt@cs.man.ac.uk)

Important dates:

Deadline for Submissions: April 21st, 2017.
Notification of Decision: June 19th, 2017.
ESSLLI summer school: July 17th--28th, 2017.


Raffaella Bernardi (University of Trento)
Julian Bradfield (University of Edinburgh)
Ernie Davis (New York University)
Sujata Ghosh (Indian Statistical Institute, Chennai)
Nina Gierasimczuk (Technical University of Denmark, Copenhagen)
Thomas Icard (Stanford University)
Carsten Lutz (University of Bremen)
Andreas Maletti (Leipzig University)
Sanjian Li (University of Technology Sydney)
Larry Moss (Indiana University Bloomington)
Ian Pratt-Hartmann (University of Manchester)
Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (Queen Mary University of London)
Yoad Winter (Utrecht University)