UCNC 2017 Second Call for Participation

Dear Colleagues,

This is the second call for participation for the 16th International Conference on Unconventional Computation and Natural Computation (UCNC 2017) on June 5-9, 2017 at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, AR, USA.  Registration is open, and can be found here:


We are still accepting abstract submissions for posters to be presented during the poster session.  Abstracts can be uploaded to Easychair and authors will be notified of acceptance within a few days of submission:


There is generous student travel support available for students of US institutions, and the application can be found here:


Please register and join us at the University of Arkansas for UCNC 2017!  (More details about the conference can be found below.)  We hope to see you there!



The International Conference on Unconventional Computation and Natural Computation (UCNC) is a meeting where scientists from many different backgrounds are united in their interest in novel forms of computation, human-designed computation inspired by nature, and computational aspects of natural processes. UCNC provides a forum for such scientists to meet and discuss their work. The 16th UCNC will take place in Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA, a city nestled in the Ozark Mountains and home to the University of Arkansas.

The main conference web site can be found here:


 * Erik Demaine (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
 * Masayuki Endo (Kyoto University, Japan)
 * José Félix Costa (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
 * Jérome Durand-Lose (Universite d'Orleans, France)
 * Makato Naruse (National Institute of Information and 
     Communications Technology, Japan)

 * Membranes/Systems Biology
     Matteo Cavaliere (University of Edinburgh, UK)
     Alfonso Rodriguez Paton (Universidad Politécnica 
       de Madrid, Spain)
   Invited Speakers:
      Alvaro Sanchez (Yale University)
      Sergey Verlan (University Paris Est Créteil)
 * Physics and Computation
   Organiser: Mike Stannett (University of Sheffield, UK)

 * Oritatami, 1st International Workshop on
   Organiser: Shinnosuke Seki (University of Electro-
     Communications, Japan)
   Invited Speakers:
      Cody Geary (Caltech/Aarhus University)
      Nicolas Schabanel (CNRS, U. Paris Diderot (IRIF), & ENS Lyon (IXXI))
UCNC Topics of interest include (but are not restricted to):
 * Molecular computing
 * Quantum computing
 * Optical computing
 * Chaos computing
 * Physarum computing
 * Collision-based computing
 * Self-assembling and self-organizing systems
 * Super-Turing computation
 * Cellular automata
 * Neural computation
 * Evolutionary computation
 * Swarm intelligence
 * Ant algorithms
 * Artificial immune systems
 * Artificial life
 * Membrane computing
 * Amorphous computing
 * Computational systems biology
 * Computational neuroscience
 * Synthetic biology
 * Cellular (in-vivo) computing
 * Matthew Patitz, University of Arkansas
 * Cindy Pickney, University of Arkansas

 * Andy Adamatzky (University of the West of England, UK)
 * Martyn Amos (Manchester Metropolitan University, UK)
 * Peter Banda (University of Luxembourg)
 * Cristian Calude (University of Auckland, New Zealand)
 * Matteo Cavaliere (University of Edinburgh, UK)
 * Mark Daley (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
 * Jérome Durand-Lose (Université d'Orléans, France)
 * Angel Goni-Moreno (Centre for Synthetic Biology and 
     Bioexploitation, Newcastle University)
 * Jacob Hendricks (University of Wisconsin-River Falls)
 * Jarkko Kari (University of Turku, Finland)
 * Lila Kari (University of Waterloo, Canada)
 * Viv Kendon (Durham University, UK)
 * Niall Murphy (University of Cambridge, UK)
 * Makato Naruse (National Institute of Information and 
     Communications Technology, Japan)
 * Turlough Neary (University of Zurich/ETH Zurich, 
 * Pekka Orponen (Aalto University, Finland)
 * Matt Patitz (University of Arkansas, USA; Co-Chair)
 * Alfonso Rodriguez Paton (Universidad Politécnica de 
     Madrid, Spain)
 * Rebecca Schulman (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
 * Mike Stannett (University of Sheffield, UK; Co-Chair)
 * Susan Stepney (University of York, UK)
 * Scott Summers (University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, USA)
 * Sergey Verlan (University Paris Est Créteil, France)
 * Damien Woods (Inria-Paris, France)

  Matthew Patitz
  Dept. of Computer Science and Computer Engineering
  504 J.B. Hunt Building
  1 University of Arkansas
  Fayetteville, AR 72701
  Email: patitz@uark.edu