Ackermann Award 2017


Nominations are now invited for the 2017 Ackermann Award.
PhD dissertations in topics specified by the CSL and LICS
conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a
university or equivalent institution between 1.1.2015 and 31.12.2016
are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission
is 1 April 2017.
Submission details follow below.
Nominations can be submitted from 1 January 2017 and should be sent
to the chair of the Jury, Anuj Dawar, by e-mail:

The Award
The 2017 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at the
annual conference of the EACSL, 20-24 August 2017, in Stockholm
The award consists of

    * a certificate,
    * an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL/LICS conference,
    * the publication of the laudatio in the CSL/LICS proceedings, and
    * travel support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one
dissertation in a year.

The jury consists of:

    * Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge), the president of EACSL;
    * Dale Miller (INRIA and Ecole Polytechnique), ACM SigLog
    * Orna Kupferman (Hebrew University of Jerusalem);
    * Daniel Leivant (Indiana University, Bloomington);
    * Luke Ong (University of Oxford);
    * Jean-Eric Pin (CNRS and University of Paris 7);
    * Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the
vice-president of EACSL;
    * Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund).

How to submit
The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

   1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
   2. a detailed description (not longer than 20 pages) of the thesis
in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file);
   3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters
by other senior researchers (in English);
supporting letters can also be sent directly to Anuj Dawar
   4. a short CV of the candidate;
   5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as
a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and
that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman
of the jury, Anuj Dawar:
With the following subject line and text:

    * Subject: Ackermann Award Submission
    * Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments

Submission can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case,
please indicate it in the text. Letters of support and documents can
also be faxed to:
Anuj Dawar
Ackermann Award
+44 1223 334678

The Jury has the right to declare submissions to be out of scope or not
to meet the requirements.